Five shortlisted design teams were selected as part of the Stage 1: Request for Supplier Qualifications process to move forward to the Stage 2: Request for Proposals process of the St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts Design Competition, based on the merits of their letters of interest, team composition, resumes, and previous work.

The jury

The design component of the process will be judged by a jury of leaders in the fields of culture, planning, urban design, architecture, Indigenous design, and landscape architecture. Adjudication is scheduled to take place in March 2023, following the public presentation of the final design submissions on March 7.

maxine bailey

Executive Director of the Canadian Film Centre (CFC)
and co-founder of the Black Artists Network in Dialogue (BAND)

Meg Graham

Architect and Founder,
Superk├╝l (Chair)

Seema Jethalal

Former Regional Director General, Canadian Heritage,
and inaugural Managing Director of Daniels Spectrum

Lori Marchand

Managing Director,
Indigenous Theatre at the National Arts Centre Ottawa

Sadie Marshall


Thomas Payne

Architect and Founder,
Thomas Payne Architect

Marc Ryan

Landscape Architect and Founder,


Virtual viewing and public feedback

February 20-March 7

Virtual viewing of design submissions and an opportunity for the public to share feedback. Feedback was accepted until March 7 at 11:59 pm.

Public townhall

March 7

In-person and virtual public townhall at St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts, Jane Mallett Theatre. Doors open and presentation board display at 5:00 pm. Architectural presentations from 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm.

Winning design announcement

Week of March 13

Announcement of the winning design (exact date to be confirmed).

Presentation to Executive and City Council

June 2023

Winning submission is presented to Executive and City Council.